top of page

Sexy Music

The one where I introduce you to an musician who should definitely be on your radar, if he's not already.



OJR — Oliver John-Rodgers — wears many hats. Literally and figuratively. Seriously. Check out his videos. Beret. Cowboy hat. Knit beanie. I think he's wearing a top hat in his YouTube profile photo! He's covering all the chapeau bases. And I love a man who can rock a hat. But he's also an amazing songwriter, a poet, a producer, and, yes, even a model. He is fire.


Despite the fact that he's been in the industry for more than a decade, I wasn't aware of him until recently. #Spotify, which sometimes gets me better than I get myself, played me an OJR track in one of my Daily Mix playlists and let me tell you ... it got my attention. I may have been slouching in my chair, but I sat right the heck up and took notice.


'Sexy Music' is exactly what the title says. Sexy mother-flipping music. Gritty, sexy lyrics set to a gritty, sexy, lo-fi groove. It's the ultimate seduction song. Don't believe me? Listen for yourself:


If you don't hit 'replay' at least a half dozen times, there's something wrong with you. I mean, what is that at the end? A xylophone? How can anyone make that sexy? What kind of witchcraft is that? The man is a genius.


Want more? His self-produced 2015 release, Nashville Demos, is a great listen from start to finish, with standout tracks 'Numb' and 'Sad Pony.' But it's his 2020 follow-up, Nashville Demos, Vol. 2, that has made me a devoted OJR-er. Oliver-ite? OJR Girl? We need to work on a name for his fanbase. Anyway, 'Cosmic American Blues' starts out with what sounds like an accordion (again, HOW IS IT POSSIBLE TO MAKE THAT INSTRUMENT HOT???) and quickly explodes into a hip-grinding track guaranteed to have you begging for more. Check out the song's brilliant, psychedelic video:



A video on his Facebook page tells me that he's got a new album ready to drop, which should hopefully be supported by some tour dates (if you're reading this, OJR, an Ohio date or two would be divine). Whatever he's bringing, I'm buying. So, drop whatever it is that you're doing right now and search for OJR on whatever platform you use for music delivery. Let those lush vibes wash over you today. Trust me. You need this music in your life. Cheers and peace out until next time.



bottom of page