top of page

Phantom Planet Is No Longer Missing

The one where we highlight the band and its catchy music.


Picture it: it's 9:00 p.m. on August 5, 2003. Do you remember where you were when you first heard that piano intro? I remember it like it was yesterday. I'd been seeing the commercials for this new Fox teen drama for months and was totally excited to check it out, so I was glued to the screen. I heard those notes and knew I was in for something good. The band behind that classic track was the relatively unknown Phantom Planet. Jason Schwartzman was an original member! How did I not know that until today? They'd already put out an album and had opened on tour for Elvis Costello, but having their song chosen as the theme song for The OC is what put them on the map.


While "California" remains their most well-known track, they can actually rock with the best of 'em:


Big Brat


Do The Panic


Somebody's Baby


Comments


bottom of page