top of page

Eat To The Beat.

The one where I talk about why it's important to listen to what your body tells you about the foods you're eating.





I am pro-science. I'm also pro-medicine, both Western and Eastern. Which is why I am so disappointed by the outdated dietary guidelines set for us here in the United States. Every year as part of our annual insurance program at work, we have to do a biometric screening and a Personal Health Assessment (PHA). Now that I'm in remission from Graves' disease, my biometric numbers always come back great. But the PHA grade I get would lead you to think that I'm terribly unhealthy, mainly because I don't consume grains or dairy and because I have a glass of wine on most days. We know that every single person on the planet is different. Some people have intolerances to certain foods. We know that. Yet, we still encourage them to eat those foods and to just take medicine to compensate for the issues they encounter. It's insane! As I mentioned above, a few years ago, I was diagnosed with Graves' disease. It's an autoimmune condition where my thyroid attacks my body and, in return, my body attacks my thyroid. Kind of like a game of football, but not nearly as much fun.


Despite the increase in the number of cases over the years, there are still only a few approved courses of treatment: medication, radiation, and removal. The medication, while effective for most people, can only be used for a short time because of the damage it can cause to the liver. Radiation is so dangerous that you need to stay away from every other human being on the planet while undergoing the treatment. And removal is exactly what it sounds like — surgery to remove the gland. When I was diagnosed, I had a very serious conversation with my endocrinologist. She was very much an advocate for removal because of my age. But that wasn't anything I was interested in. First, the thyroid controls so much in your body: metabolism, heart rate, brain development, and bone maintenance. Removing it means having to take a different kind of medication for the rest of my life. Second, I just didn't want to have surgery. I was convinced that there had to be a better option. I spent months researching thyroid issues, from suspected underlying causes to promising treatments. Some medical professionals were talking about how it was possible to get your body into a state of permanent remission. And that was something I was interested in. What did they recommend? Treating the underlying cause of the problem, not just treating the symptoms. While not absolutely conclusive, there is ample evidence to support the idea that most, if not all, autoimmune diseases have a dietary component to them. The more we continue to eat foods our bodies can't tolerate, the more inflammation our bodies develop. The more inflammation, the more damage to our body. Leaky gut is a suspected culprit behind most of this. What happens is that we eat foods our bodies can't tolerate and over time small holes develop in the lining of the intestine, allowing food particles to enter into the bloodstream. Because they're not supposed to be there, the body views them as invaders and begins to attack them. With me, the thinking is that these food particles were detected by my thyroid and so my thyroid went into defense mode and started producing too much hormone. The hormones, in return, attacked my thyroid. Lather, rinse, repeat for years until it became too much for me to handle. So I decided to change my diet. Drastically. I went on the keto diet, but not the version you probably have in your head. Unfortunately, it's been bastardized over the years and now people only associate it with huge slabs of bacon and wheels of cheese and butter. But, if done correctly, the keto diet can be incredibly healthy for you. Here's what I did: I cut out sugar, all of it. I use monk fruit and stevia when I need it, including when I bake. Grains are gone, too. No beans or legumes. No quinoa, wheat, or rye. Since healing my gut, I've toyed with gluten-free oats and my body seems to tolerate them — which is great, because uncooked oats (like you'd have when soaking them overnight) are an excellent source of resistant starch. Resistant starches don't get digested and are a great prebiotic. They can also lower cholesterol and reduce the risk of colon cancer because of their high fiber content. No fruit, except for a random handful of blueberries every now and again. Starchy veggies have also been eliminated. So what's left? Healthy oils like those from avocados and olives. Lots of nuts and seeds like almonds, pecans, and cashews. Proteins like chicken breasts, lean cuts of beef and pork, salmon, and lots of eggs. And lots of cauliflower, broccoli, cooked spinach and kale, zucchini, and Brussel sprouts.

No, I do not meet the touted food pyramid guidelines. But I feel great. Better than I have in years. I have a ton of energy and my body acts and feels like it did when I was much younger. My skin also looks fantastic. And, as I mentioned, my numbers are great. So how can I get an unhealthy grade from a quiz? Beats me, but I'm not spending any time thinking about it. And I encourage you to not think about the pyramid, either. I think we have to recognize that one diet does not fit all. If you're having issues with pain and inflammation, or with an autoimmune disease, please look at alternate ways of eating. Cutting out processed foods is a huge step in the right direction. Another good option is to check out the Whole 30 diet. It's basically an eating plan that eliminates all common triggers for 30 days and then allows you to start adding in foods slowly after that. Your body will be clean and healed, so any inflammation will be noticed right away and then you know to avoid that food. Listen to your body. Eat to the beat of what your body tells you it needs. Cheers, and peace out until next time.



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page