top of page

Big Jet Plane.

The one where I talk about an upcoming trip and my new suitcase.



I just got back from walking the dogs, which required the donning of a winter puffer coat. In May. So, yeah, saying that I'm looking forward to summer is an understatement. Summer always seems so hopeful. At least, early summer does. Everything is a lush green color and the sky is sunny and bright. It feels like nothing but dreams waiting to be fulfilled lie ahead of you. But then it heats up and everything that was green turns brown and dies, along with your dreams. Not this year, though! This year, it's going to be different!


I'm high on optimism right now. For the first time in over two years, we have a trip planned. Flights are booked, hotel reservations have been made, dog vaccinations have been scheduled. It's real, yo. New York City, here we come! I even bought a new suitcase. I hadn't planned to, but The D00D said that my existing suitcase was going to be too big (in his opinion) to be wheeling around the city. Maybe he was right, I don't know, but I rarely shy away from an opportunity to buy something new. Especially if it's cute. So when I saw this adorable Karl Lagerfeld suitcase on Amazon — and with Prime delivery! — I knew it was meant to be. If you know me, you might be surprised to learn that I actually love the color pink. And that I love adorable things. Both seem out of character, I know, but it's the truth. Is that graphic a cat? A bunny? Who knows! It's wearing sunglasses and has a heart-shaped nose. That's all that matters. It also fits a ton of stuff. Ask me how I know. I know because I've already made a list of everything I'm going to take with me and test packed everything this morning. No, we don't leave until June 23, but you have to be prepared, people. Test packing is the only way to really see what holes need to be filled. And trust me, holes have been detected, but I'm on it. In case you're wondering, there's ample space for a pair of jeans, 3 pairs of shorts, 3 dresses, 2 cardigans, a sweatshirt, 8 t-shirts, pajamas, underwear, shoes, slippers, a robe, and a denim jacket. Things could possibly get dicey when I have to add in my health and beauty items, so I'll have to do a test packing session of those to see what can be downsized and what can maybe be left behind altogether. But the suitcase expands, so I think I'll be okay and won't have to sacrifice too much. I know this all sounds insane but I've learned this lesson the hard way. It's so much better to plan ahead and be prepared so that you're not running around like a crazy person the day before your trip. I was never a Girl Scout, but I think I would have nailed that badge. Make a list, check off items, feel good inside. Efficient and self-esteem-boosting. Win-win! What about you? Do you have any exciting plans for the summer? If so, let me know. I think I'm going to make travel a priority in this post-pandemic world.


Cheers, and peace out until next time!



Comments


bottom of page